Online Marketing Tales: In Search of the Cyber-world EL
Dorado
by Marvin Nolan Moore
--Diary
of an Online Marketer:--
- My
company has spent thousands to produce our
companies’ web site
- We
have the best e-commerce solution to sell our
products and track inventories in real time
- Our
Web Trends Report says we only had 200 user
sessions this week, but upon further review I
discover that it is employees within our
company who are actually visiting the site.
How many times did I visit our homepage? I
can’t remember.
- Our
web site is on the search engines. I know this
because when I type in our company’s name on
altavista.com our company appears. But, search
for a keyword like "our products"...
I gave up looking for our site after 30 or 40
pages.
- The
boss is all over my "you-know-what"
to produce leads and sales
- I’ve
finally received an online advertising budget.
Now what do I do?
The
scenario above is played out over and over as
multitudes of businesses hit the web in search of
the cyber-world’s version of EL Dorado, that
mythical city where all is gold. It’s not going
to happen without careful planning and spending
money on marketing and advertising.
--The Scarcity of Online Marketing
Professionals--
How many successful "brick and mortar"
businesses have been started without a business
plan? I would say very few. Time and time again, I
receive calls from businesses wanting to market
their web site. My first question is always
"Do you have an online marketing plan and
budget?" I’ve never heard "yes we
do".
The problem with creating an online marketing plan
and budget is the lack of expertise in the
Internet medium. The Internet exploded so fast
that even educational institutions are struggling
to create curriculums that teach Internet
marketing and advertising strategies. There is a
major shortage of Internet Marketing professionals
who have experience. In most cases, traditional
marketing professionals have been sacrificed by
their companies and thrown into the Internet arena
with no experience. The question then becomes
"When are they going to fail?" and not
"what if they fail?".
Let’s assume you do have an online
marketing/advertising plan and budget in place.
What is the next step? I highly recommend that if
you do not have an experienced Internet marketing
professional on your roster, consider outsourcing
a company with a proven track record. You may want
to hire a management team to handle all of your
online needs, at the very least hire a seasoned
Internet consultant to train your staff. Or, you
can always try to muddle through the experience on
your own.
--A Tale of...Whoa! : Throwing Ad Dollars Down
The Drain--
I recently had a client who contracted my company,
E-Base Interactive, to handle all of their online
marketing and advertising responsibilities. What
had happened was the "usual". They had
started a new dot.com company, were heavily backed
by VC, and had now spent an ungodly amount on
Internet advertising, with very little results.
The company had signed a multi-million dollar,
1-year contract, with a well-known portal site
catering to women. The breakdown was paying $50
CPM (Cost Per Thousand impressions) of their
banner ads and includes a co-branded web page.
This relates to paying $0.05 each time their
banner is displayed, not even clicked on, just
being viewed!
I performed a web site traffic and cost analysis
for them that still has me cringing. The company
was receiving only a 0.43% CTR (Click Through
Rate= total banner impressions/web users). The
harsh reality is the average CPC (Cost Per
Click=$spent/users) is $11.62! I broke their
analysis down even further to determine the CPL
(Cost Per Lead=$spent/leads). The company is
receiving a 1.80% lead ratio to web site visitors,
which equates to costing $648.15 per lead
generated.
Company’s One-Week Analysis:
868,520 impressions X $0.05 ea. (@ $50 CPM) =
$43,426 3734 web visitors (868,520 X 0.43% CTR)
$11.62 CPC ($43,426/3734)
67 leads for the week (filled out online form or
called the office)
Lead Ratio = 1.80% (67/3734)
$648.15 CPL ($43,426/67)
As I stated, the company signed a 1-year contract
and still has 4 months left to go at the time of
this writing.
--A Tale of...Whew! : Smart Ad Spending Via
Pay-for-Performance--
As you saw in "The Tale of Whoa!" above,
the company is in a losing situation. I
immediately created a new long-term marketing plan
and advertising strategy for them. Knowing that
they did not want to go down another dismal path,
just throwing their money away, I started an
affiliate program for them.
An Affiliate Program allows an advertiser to only
pay for performance. Basically, affiliates (web
site owners or companies) will advertise in return
for monetary compensation based on their
performance. The compensation for performance can
be CPC, CPL or CPS (Cost per Sale). It was
determined that the company wanted to drive as
much traffic to the web site as possible, with the
goal of reaching 200,000 unique users per month
within 6 months of starting the affiliate program.
We met that goal within 3 months. The affiliates
are paid $0.10 per click and the affiliate network
provider earns $0.02 per click, bringing the total
to $0.12 per click. This is a far cry from paying
$11.62 per click as shown above.
Here is what happened in the fourth week after
starting the affiliate program:
177 Active Affiliates (web sites displaying the
companies’ banner ads and text links) 314,408 ad
impressions ($0.00 CPM) 9406 web site visitors
2.99% CTR (9406/314,408) CPC= $0.12 Total Cost:
$1128.72 109 leads (1.16% Lead Ratio) CPL=$10.35
($1128.72/109)
At the time of this writing the company now has
several thousand affiliates and is receiving
around 90,000 web site visitors per week.
--Online Success Can Be Acheived--
Since the start of the World Wide Web, we’ve
heard how cost-effective online marketing can be.
And though this is true, there has to be an
effective management team in place and a solid
plan of action. Online success can be achieved
with careful preparation and due diligence. Make
the most of your advertising dollars, do some
research, attend a seminar, hire the right
professionals or outsource an experienced
management firm. There are several paths leading
to the Cyber EL Dorado. Which one are you on?
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About the Author: Marvin Nolan Moore is a 5-year
veteran of online marketing and the VP of Internet
Marketing for E-Base Interactive, Inc. E-Base
Interactive provides Internet solutions and online
marketing management services to clients ranging
from small businesses to Fortune 500 companies.
Contact Marvin : marvin@ebaseinc.com
and visit his web site at: http://www.ebaseinteractive.com
or [Ph: 877-306-8474]
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